Moving Out

I took advantage of the cloudy weather and moved out the seedlings i started in early January into the cold frame.

They’re (kale, chard, and arugula) very happy and have really taken off the past week, and are around 5″ tall.  Should be able to do some small harvesting soon, and after the frosts, i’ll take the frame apart to let them really grow.

I’m not so sure about this whole cold frame business in my yard since there are trees across the alley that block the low winter sun or most of the day- i didn’t get any sun from late November to just a few weeks ago. Also the window i’m using now is very heavy for the amount of growing space i get, and it’s hard to work in.

I might end up switching to a plastic row cover next year and get rid of the frames, but i haven’t made up my mind just yet.  This way, i can over winter more hardy greens for earlier harvests (and 2nd year seed collecting?). Much lighter, more growing space, easier to store, simple construction, and easier to move around as needed to protect warm crops from cold nights in spring?  Sounds good to me!  Any thoughts?

About Ryan

Urban gardening at it's best (sometimes it's worst)! Adventures and learnings from going 100% lawn free in a D.C. row house.
This entry was posted in Cold Frame and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moving Out

  1. Kim says:

    Ry – I am seriously liking the blog. You have me inspired! Now I am totally plotting summer growing on the balcony, which gets tons of South light. Lettuce for sure, but maybe even a deep container (built – found info on container lasagna). I am actually thinking of whether I could try something more elaborate on the roof – if you come across anything. Of course I would have to clear it w the ‘lords…and do this pesky phd…

    • Ryan says:

      how ironic: a food related phd eating up your time to make….food?!
      my advice with the container gardens is make sure to water often and be sure to not let the pots heat up too much: you can really cook roots fast in black pots in the direct sun. even that weak canadian sun! oh snap

  2. Ryan says:

    check this one out, pretty much all you need to know in one place. and, colorado mountain weather probably has similar summer temperatures as you.
    http://cmg.colostate.edu/gardennotes/724.pdf

  3. As a fellow gardener, I am delighted to have discovered your splendid site. Keep up the good work!

  4. As a fellow gardener, I am delighted to have discovered you site. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

